Tags

, , ,

Today, while the blossoms still cling to the vine,

I’ll taste your strawberries, I’ll drink your sweet wine.

A million tomorrows shall all pass away,

‘ere I forget all the joy that is mine, today.

These are part of the lyrics of a song I first learned at camp in the mountains of North Carolina. Originally written by Randy Sparks, the song is better known as a John Denver hit, and it has stuck in my head since the day we learned it around a campfire in the woods. It not only carries a great message for me to remember – focus on today – but the lyrics’ image of blossoms allows me to use this photo collage of Washington, DC’s peak cherry blossom day yesterday!

Submitted as part of the Weekly Photo Challenge, which asks us to share a photo inspired by a poem, verse, song lyric or story.

