Tags

, , ,

Every trip I have taken is vivid in my mind, but a few have been vivid in a visible, colorful way, a way I can share with others. The first place that popped into my head when I thought about this prompt was Tibet, but you are all a little tired of my Tibet obsession, aren’t you?

The next best place is surely the Buenos Aires neighborhood of La Boca. This working class barrio at “the mouth” of the Riachuelo River was the landing and settling point for many immigrants to Argentina, and its buildings were constructed of the local shipyards’ extra materials – corrugated iron, sheet metal, and rough wood planks – and painted head to toe in vibrant colors. Now an often-crowded tourist draw by day, the neighborhood remains the home of bohemian artists, soccer fans, tango aficionados, and the descendants of the working class families that settled the area.

unnamed

unnamed

unnamed

unnamed

unnamed

unnamed

unnamed

