Tags

, , ,

In my regular life, I am most certainly not an early bird. I drag myself out of bed on work days, stay up late whenever I can, and sleep in shamelessly on weekends. But when I’m traveling, I somehow don’t mind getting up early to explore a new place or get a jump on a day’s hiking. Although you will see very few actual dawn photos here (I don’t do dawn if I can help it!), some of my favorite morning memories in the world have been these:

Sunrise over Ngorongoro Crater, Tanzania

Sunrise over Ngorongoro Crater, Tanzania

Jambo Jambo! The best way in the world to wake up - a soft call, coffee, and warm water for washing, at Serengeti camp, Tanzania

Jambo Jambo! The best way in the world to wake up – a soft call, coffee, and warm water for washing, at Serengeti camp, Tanzania

Getting up at the freezing crack of dawn was worth it for this hot air balloon ride over Cappadocia, Turkey

Getting up at the freezing crack of dawn was worth it for this hot air balloon ride over Cappadocia, Turkey

Day breaks on the Straits of Magellan, far southern Chile, as we prepare to begin the Paine Circuit hike.

Day breaks on the Straits of Magellan, far southern Chile, as we prepare to begin the Paine Circuit hike.

An early morning stroll at Père Lachaise Cemetery in Paris, France

An early morning stroll at Père Lachaise Cemetery in Paris, France

An otherworldly morning at Phuyupatamarca (12,000'), the last camp on the Inca Trail

An otherworldly morning at Phuyupatamarca (12,000′), the last camp on the Inca Trail

Morning sun softly lights Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, Abu Dhabi

Morning sun softly lights Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, Abu Dhabi

My frosty morning window opened to this view of the Kwangde ridge of summits, Namche Bazaar, Nepal

My frosty morning window opened to this view of the Kwangde ridge of summits, Namche Bazaar, Nepal

To see some Earlier Bird photos, click here.

