Tags

, ,

There are two kinds of bliss for me: a bit of everyday happiness and once-in-a-lifetime moments of sheer peace.

In the fall of 2012, I traveled to Nepal on my own to meet a group of fellow hikers on the Everest Base Camp trail. We stayed in rustic unheated lodges that were somehow the coziest places I’ve ever been.  One morning I woke in a 32-degree room with my window frosted over and could barely force myself out from under the heavy pile of wool blankets on my narrow bed.

Frosty morning window at Tashinga Lodge, Nepal

Frosty morning window at Tashinga Lodge, Nepal

When I did, I opened my window with a warm cup of coffee in my hands and saw this view. Cold as I was, I sat by that open window, steaming mug in hand, and was about as happy as I think I’ve ever been.

Morning view from Tashinga Lodge, Nepal

Morning view from Tashinga Lodge, Nepal

But back to capturing the idea of bliss here at home on a decidedly un-blissful Thursday afternoon … I try to sit down every evening and spend some time with my favorite things – a cup of tea, a New Yorker magazine, some travel-planning materials, a crossword puzzle, and my laptop. It’s my little daily dose of bliss right here at home.

DSC_0152

 

